Click here to add text.

Information about eligibility, procedures and an applications can be found at this site. 
BCREA  Robert M. Oberholser Scholarship Information

Harriet DiLeonardo Scholarship Information 

Scholarship Background

The Robert M. Oberholser Scholarship is awarded annually to a senior graduating from a public high school in Burlington County who is planning to pursue a college degree in the field of education.   
The scholarship was established in 1959 to honor the memory of the first president of the BCREA, Robert M. Oberholser.  Thus far, there have been 26 awards presented, and 14 county schools are represented.  

The Harriet DiLeonardo Scholarship is awarded annually to a high school senior who intends to pursue a college degree on the field of education.  This scholarship was awarded for the first time in 2017.  It was named after Harriet DiLeonardo who has served the BCREA in many capacities and was a past recipient of the BCREA Service Award.  The scholarship was established to aide students attending two year institutions of higher learning or careers. 

2018 Scholarship Information


This year the Burlington County Retirees' Education Association will be awarding a $3500.00  scholarship to a student entering the field of education in a four year college or university in New Jersey.  This is the Robert M. Oberholser Scholarship.

A second scholarship is offered to aide students attending a two years institution of higher learning or careers.  The value of the  Harriet DiLeonardo Scholarship is $2000.00.
Completed applications and requirements for these scholarships must be sent to:
BCREA Scholarships
East Ridge Plaza, Suite 3A & B
621 Beverly Rancocas Road
Willingboro, NJ 08046

Any application postmarked after the due date will be disqualified.

For additional information contact the Scholarship Committee Co-Chairs:  
Brenda Collier:  
Roseanne Dent:

1996Carla Schneck     Lenape

1997Kelli Schuyler      Rancocas Valley
Laurie Weitzner  Cinnaminson

1998Christopher Melograma   Cherokee
Kyle Williams       Shawnee

1999Jamie Holins        Florence

2000Raymond Okuda         Pemberton Township
Regina Shinn       Pemberton Township

2001Julie Jeral    Cherokee
Jennifer Paetzold      Pemberton Township

2002Jennifer Disler    Lenape
Rachel Tatcher   Burlington City

2003Jamie Castellanos      Cherokee
Lauren Windle    Burlington Township

2004Jamie Eichelberger    Maple Shade
Laura Eveland      Lenape
Katelyn LaMachiaBordentown Regional

2005Ryan Barton Shawnee

2006Katherine KohlerRiverside

2007Lauren Zerillo      Shawnee

2008Jessica Mullen    Palmyra

2009Eric Guth       Shawnee

2010Megan Doherty    Delran

2011Alexandra Mazyck       Burlington City

2012Meghan Echmann       Burlington City

2013Kerry Farnum       Shawnee

2014Noelle Tripodi      Northern Burlington County

2015Stephanie Thomas     Burlington Township

2016 Cielo Nuestro    Palmyra 

2017Mariah Conard  Pemberton Township

2018 Danielle Berson  Shawnee High School


Harriet DeLonardo Scholarship Recipients
2017Lexi Conard        Riverside High School
2018 Rebekah Allen       Palmyra HIgh School

Harriet DiLeonardo

Do you ever wonder what happened to our BCREA Scholarship Winner?  Well, so have we. We have tried to reach out to some of our past winners and we were able to gather a little information about them.  
If you know of any other recipients, please send us their informaion and we will reach out to them.  In that way we can see how successful these young people have become.

Below are a few of the past BCREA Scholarship recipients:

2007 Lauren Zerillo

2008 Jessica Mullen

2010 Meghan Doherty
The BCREA Scholarship Committee is selling  BCREA  lapel pins to raise money 
for the Robert M. Oberholser Scholarship Fund.  

Pins sell for $5.00 and will available at the Spring and Fall Luncheons.

In order to support our scholarships, BCREA has become a member of the Affinity Program at TD Bank. This program will enable TD Bank to make annual contributions to the BCREA Affinity account based on the average balance of our members' accounts.  
Accounts eligible for the Affinity Program are checking, savings, money markets, certificates of deposit and IRA's.  This is an easy way for you to contribute to the scholarship fund without doing anything except enrolling in the program. You may contribute to only one Affinity account and you can become a contributor by stopping at any branch of TD Bank and talk to a Customer Service Representative at any Branch of TD Bank. 

 Thank you in advance for your help to this worthwhile cause.

You can make personal donations to the BCREA Scholarship Fund.  Make your payable to BCREA-PF and send your donation to BCREA treasurer:
Judith Gaber
20 Lavender Court
Marlton, NJ 08053
BCREA Scholarships
NJREA offers two scholarships to students, a four year and  a two year scholarship which are renewable.  Information about eligibility, procedures and an applications can be found at this site. Application deadline is April 1, 2019.

Four Year scholarship ~ The Allen/Hickman Scholarship 

Two Year Scholarship ~ Fred Aug Scholarship
The Recipients of the BCREA Scholarships for 2018 are (left) Rebekah Allen, Palmyra High School and (right) Danielle Berson, Shawnee High School.
2018 BCREA Scholarship Recipients
2018 Robert M. Oberholser Scholarship Recipient
    Danielle Berson is a senior at Shawnee High School. She is well-rounded and actively involved in numerous clubs and activities within and outside of school. Danielle is the president of the Future Educators Association. She is also involved with Executive Council, National Honor Society, peer mentoring and the Renaissance Club. Additionally, Danielle works as a “Art Guru” teaching art at Lifetime Fitness in the Kids Academy. She has served as a volunteer at her church and was a preschool helper at Goddard School. In the future, Danielle hopes to become a fourth-grade teacher. She will attend The College of New Jersey in Fall.

Danielle Berson and her Mom.
2018 Harriet DeLonardo Scholarship Recipient
    Rebekah Allen is a senior at Palmyra High School. She is also active in a myriad of civic and educational activities. Rebekah is the recipient of numerous awards such as: Tomorrow’s Teacher Award, Academic Excellence Award, Advanced Art Award, Environmental Science Honors Award, and the Panther Press Award. She also participates in student council and the drama club where she earned the Palmyra Player Award. Rebekah also volunteers for children’s events at the Palmyra Community Center. She wants to become an art teacher. She will attend Rowan College at Burlington County.

Rebekah Allen and her Dad.